Partick Thistle FC logo
Partick Thistle FC
Partick Thistle FC

Clare Docherty sweeps PTWFC 20/21 awards

At the end of a hugely successful 2020/21 season for Partick Thistle Women’s FC, there were three club awards to be given out; the top scorer award, the Player of the Year award and the Players’ Player of the Year award.

We can today confirm that Jags number eight Clare Docherty has won all three awards following her outstanding campaign for Brian Graham’s side.

Clare ended the season with 10 goals from 18 appearances in the SWPL 2, finishing joint fifth in the divisional scoring charts. She also registered eight assists across the campaign.

Her impressive overall form earned her a nomination for the SWPL Player of the Month award for June as well as for the SWPL 2 Player of the Year award.

The club’s top scorer award was easy to give out with Docherty finishing two goals clear of our second top scorer Cheryl Rigden. The other two awards, however, were decided by votes.

The Player of the Year prize went to a public vote on the PTWFC Twitter page and Clare was one of four nominees with Demi Falconer, Jade Gallon and Cheryl Rigden being the other candidates. Docherty ended up winning the ballot with just over 55% of the vote.

Likewise, Clare won the vote for the Players’ Player of the Year which was picked by the PTWFC squad, edging out Demi Falconer by two votes, giving her a clean sweep of the club’s seasonal awards for 20/21.

To keep up to date with Partick Thistle Women’s FC, you can follow the club on Twitter, like the club’s Facebook page or subscribe to the PTWFC YouTube channel.

< Back