Partick Thistle FC logo
Partick Thistle FC
Partick Thistle FC

Four Jags in the League One Team of the Season

At the end of every league campaign, the divisional teams of the season seek to recognise the most impressive performers in each of the SPFL’s four tiers and we’re delighted that four Partick Thistle players have received such recognition today.

Darren Brownlie, Stuart Bannigan, Scott Tiffoney and Brian Graham are the Jags who have been named in the 2020/21 League One team of the season, all four very worthy of the honour.

Centre-half Darren Brownlie played more minutes than any other Thistle player as the Maryhill men won the League One title and was a key component in a defence which conceded just 18 goals in 22 league games. The total of 11 League One clean sheets for the campaign is testament to the work of Brownlie and his numerous defensive partners.

Stuart Bannigan was not far behind Brownlie in terms of minutes played, starting 25 of the team’s 28 games in all competitions and providing consistent performances throughout. Bannigan’s composure and commitment in the Jags’ engine room was vital for the Firhill side and he rightly takes his position in the Team of the Season’s midfield.

Despite only playing half the season in Thistle colours, Scott Tiffoney was also selected. The winger was central to the attacking improvement the Jags experienced after the return to football in March and his impact is exemplified by his numbers. Eight goals and four assists in 13 games represents an outstanding return for a player who’ll now ply his trade at Firhill for two more seasons after making his loan permanent earlier this month.

Finally, Brian Graham is the fourth Thistle man in the XI and it’s a well-earned spot indeed. Another one of the team’s most consistent players, talisman Brian finished as the squad’s top scorer with 11 goals in 19 league games. He shouldered the scoring burden during the first half of the season but really flourished as part of an exciting frontline after the enforced break with seven goals in 11 League One games en route to the title.

Congratulations to Darren, Stuart, Scott and Brian from all at Firhill.

Article Copyright © 2021. Permission to use quotations from this article online is only granted subject to appropriate source credit and hyperlink to

< Back